top of page

Landlocked - a poem

Landlocked- a poem

It's been years since I've been to the sea.

Since I've taken in the salty ocean air,

Since I dug my toes into the sand.

It's been years since the sea has seen me.

But when the wind blows through the trees

I hear the ebb and hiss of waves in their leaves.

And it brings me peace.

I close my eyes and stand on a private shore,

Calmed by the ancient, primordial depths,

Breathing deep and stepping into the tide.

My spirit lingers there, longing for more.

But when the rain hisses through the boughs

I smell water and ozone and Neptune knows

How it brings me peace.

The mountains and it's flora are a wonder to me,

Beautiful and vibrant and green.

The wildlife enchanting, the rock enduring,

But a piece of my soul belongs to the sea

Because it brings me peace.

TranquilEvey by Blue S. Badella, water soluble oil on canvas

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page